Interview with Corrosion of Conformity & Down guitarist Pepper Keenan

pepper-keenanMia Timpano: Do you think Death Magnetic would have been a better album with you playing bass on it?

Pepper Keenan: Hahaha! Oh, I don’t know! There’d have been some head-buttin’, I’m sure. Hahaha. You know, I love what James does, man. He’s got a great right hand and a great sense of melody. Sometimes I think there’s too much thought put into it nowadays, because it’s such a giant band. I think Trujillo’s got it covered though. I think he’s doing a great job.

I guess they’re dealing with a whole bunch of weird issues now, like all that stuff about trying to resuscitate themselves from 25 years ago.

I mean sometimes you can do that. I think the main thing that happened was that they had Trujillo back in the band. So by having Trujillo, they could do things that they were doing with Cliff Burton that they couldn’t do with Jason Newstead before, if that makes any sense. Because Trujillo plays with his fingers and they could really ATTACK it. I think it brought some nostalgic thing to Lars and James, where they felt like they had the energy and the attitude maybe to go backwards now and start doing that. I think that’s the main thing. I think they do it well. They ought to. Hell, they started it.

Download full interview as .mp3 (5Mb)

Originally broadcast on 3RRR FM 20 Oct 2008.
Comment via Blabbermouth.net.

~ by miatimpano on October 20, 2008.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

