Interview with the Primitive Calculators

primitive-calculatorsMia Timpano: Did behaving in this way [i.e. destroying private property] ever concern you in any sense, or were you truly that bad?

Stuart Grant: I don’t know about the other guys, but for me, but when I first heard the first Ramones album, and the morning “Anarchy in the UK” came out, it was profound change in my life. I felt like all of the sense of rebellion … ’Cause we came off the tail end of the hippy movement and the tail end of the Vietnam War movement. And I personally had a taste that the rebelliousness, the potential for social change had gone sour, and had turned into a sham. And that was reflected in rock and roll through the mega-bands — Yes and ELO, people who had once been in bands in the sixities. They were older than us, but I felt like I didn’t have a voice for my own need for rebelliousness. When I heard that first Ramones album, I felt like something clicked. There was a nihilism, a malicious stupidity and a destructiveness in it that chimed with me. I believed in the Primitive Calculators firmly, with passion, that we were changing the world, that what we were doing was of such cultural and social import that it was a very, very, very serious thing. We were that stupid. And so every time we smashed stuff and broke property, I firmly believed that we were doing good in the world. And that it was a creative act. Propety is theft. We were young.

3RRR Best Of Music Interviews


Download full interview as .mp3 (23Mb)

Originally broadcast on 3RRR FM 27 Oct 2008.
This interview was also selected for 3RRR’s “Best Of” Music Interviews podcast.


~ by miatimpano on November 7, 2008.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

